The Greatest Detroit Tiger By Position: Right Field

tigers rf.jpg

Moving on to the last position in the outfield, we’ve already anointed Bobby Veach the Greatest Tiger left fielder, and Ty Cobb the greatest Tiger center fielder.  The question now is, will Sam Crawford make an early 1900’s sweep of outfield greats, or will Al Kaline or possibly Harry Heilmann, or another Tiger take home that crown?  To be eligible for the list, a player must play at least 5-years for the Tigers with a majority of games coming at that position.  Unlike the infielder however, I do look at stats across all outfield spots.

If you’d like to catch up, you can see who I believe is the greatest Tiger catcher, first baseman, second baseman, third baseman, and shortstop of all-time as well.

Qualifying for today’s list is: Al Kaline, Harry Heilmann, Sam Crawford, Pete Fox, and Magglio Ordonez.  With this group, I am leaving Pete Fox off the list with a total Tigers WAR of 10.6.

Continue reading at Sons of ’84

About Shaneo42

I am an amateur blogger but avid Detroit Tigers fan which started out around the age of 7 during the 1984 Tiger season. That year catapulted me to love the game and want to write about it as much as possible. I played some high school ball, rode some pine in college and co-created and wrote Pepper Baseball Blog for eight years. It's time for a fresh start for myself, the blog, and our readers hopefully as I write about the Tigers, Baseball, and my hobby Baseball cards. I hope you enjoy!

Posted on January 24, 2017, in MLB Reports and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment