The Sons of ’84 Hall of Fame Ballot (If I Had One)

hall of fame logo.jpgWith the 2017 baseball Hall of Fame election results being announced at 6p est tonight, I decided to share who I’d vote for if I had a ballot.

Player’s need 75% of the vote to be elected and those voting can only choose to vote for up to ten players (although not required) out of this year’s list of 34.  Write-in votes are not allowed (sorry Shoeless Joe and Charlie Hustle).

Also, let’s get my steroid stance out of the way first…I believe first that there were far more players abusing steroids than we know and since we don’t know who was clean and who wasn’t, I won’t let it affect my vote.  Second, I think the commissioner and team management are also partially to blame for this issue as they just looked the other way.  Lastly, this isn’t the first time that performance enhancing drugs were an issue in baseball.  Amphetamines were huge in the 70’s & ‘80’s and I’d guess more heavily abused than steroids.  Oh, and don’t give me character clause BS, there are gamblers, racists, and alcoholics in the Hall.

Here’s my list…

Continue reading at Sons of ’84

About Shaneo42

I am an amateur blogger but avid Detroit Tigers fan which started out around the age of 7 during the 1984 Tiger season. That year catapulted me to love the game and want to write about it as much as possible. I played some high school ball, rode some pine in college and co-created and wrote Pepper Baseball Blog for eight years. It's time for a fresh start for myself, the blog, and our readers hopefully as I write about the Tigers, Baseball, and my hobby Baseball cards. I hope you enjoy!

Posted on January 18, 2017, in MLB Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment