Zach Britton, Kenley Jansen Awarded BBBA’s Richard “Goose” Gossage Award for Best Regular Season MLB Relief Pitching Performances of 2016

The bloggers of the Baseball Bloggers Alliance have chosen the Baltimore Orioles’ Zach Britton and the Los Angeles Dodgers’ Kenley Jansen as the best relief pitchers of the 2016 MLB regular season.

In balloting, Mr. Britton received 24 first place votes and 200 points overall, highest among all candidates in both leagues. The only other American League reliever to earn a first place vote was the Cleveland Indians’ (and previously New York Yankees’) Andrew Miller, with nine selections atop the ballot. The top five AL relievers finished as follows:

  1. Zach Britton, 200 points (24 first place votes)
  2. Andrew Miller, 131 (9)
  3. Cody Allen, 36
  4. Dellin Betances, 34
  5. Francisco Rodriguez, 22

In the National League, Kenley Jansen earned 181 points on 20 first place votes. Other first place vote getters included the New York Mets’ Jeurys Familia (8), the Washington Nationals’ (and previously Pittsburgh Pirates’) Mark Melancon (3), the Mets’ Addison Reed (1) and the Chicago Cubs’ Justin Grimm (1). The top five NL relievers finished as follows:

  1. Kenley Jansen, 181 points (20 first place votes)
  2. Jeurys Familia, 102 (8)
  3. Mark Melancon, 83 (3)
  4. Seung Hwan Oh, 29
  5. Addison Reed, 26 (1)

In total, 49 MLB relievers received a vote in the 2016 Goose Gossage Award balloting. Honorable mention (with point totals) goes to:

  • American League: Roberto Osuna (19), Alex Colome (16), Christopher Devenski (16), Sam Dyson (15), Brad Brach (7), Kelvin Herrera (6), Craig Kimbrel (4), Bryan Shaw (2), David Robertson (2), Joseph Biagini (2), Ken Giles (2), Mike Montgomery (2), Nate Jones (2), Nick Vincent (2), Wade Davis (2), Will Harris (2), Edwin Diaz (1), Matt Bush (1), Mychal Givens (1), Ryan Dull (1)
  • National League: A.J. Ramos (15), Justin Grimm (10), Travis Wood (10), Hector Rondon (8), Joe Blanton (5), Raisel Iglesias (5), Tyler Thornburg (5), Jeanmar Gomez (4), Shawn Kelley (4), Carlos Torres (3), Santiago Casilla (3), Tony Cingrani (3), Tony Watson (3), Fernando Rodney (2), Kyle Barraclough (2), Brad Hand (1), Hector Neris (1), Jim Johnson (1), Josh Smith (1)

About JD Mathewson

PhD in International Relations and Political Economy

Posted on November 16, 2016, in Awards, MLB Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: