Gary Sanchez, Corey Seager Awarded BBBA’s Willie Howard Mays, Jr., Award for Best Regular Season MLB Rookie Performances of 2016

The bloggers of the Baseball Bloggers Alliance have chosen the New York Yankees’ Gary Sanchez and the Los Angeles Dodgers’ Corey Seager as the best rookies of the 2016 MLB regular season.

In balloting, Mr. Seager earned 130 points with 26 first place votes, highest among all candidates in both leagues. Other National League rookies who earned first place votes included the Washington Nationals’ Trea Turner (with two), the Dodgers’ Kenta Maeda, the Chicago Cubs’ Willson Contreras and the St. Louis Cardinals’ Almedys Diaz. The top three NL rookies finished as follows:

  1. Corey Seager, 130 points (26 first place votes)
  2. Trea Turner, 36 (2)
  3. Trevor Story, 34

In the American League, Mr. Sanchez earned 99 points on 14 first place votes, narrowly edging out the Detroit Tigers’ Michael Fulmer with 95 points and 12 first place votes. Other first place vote getters included the Cleveland Indians’ Tyler Naquin (two), the Boston Red Sox’ Andrew Benintendi (three), the Chicago White Sox’ Tyler Anderson and the Houston Astros’ Yulieski Gurriel. The top three AL rookies finished as follows:

  1. G Sanchez, 99 points (14 first place votes)
  2. M Fulmer, 95 (12)
  3. T Naquin, 33 (2)

In total, 32 rookies received a vote for the 2016 Willie Mays Award. Honorable mention (with point totals) goes to:

  • American League: Andrew Benintendi (15), Nomar Mazara (7), Tyler Anderson (6), Yulieski Gurriel (5), Max Kepler (4), Matt Bush (4), Edwin Diaz (4), Cheslor Cuthbert (3), Byron Buxton (3), Aaron Judge (3), Hyun Soo Kim (1), Dylan Bundy (1), Chris Devenski (1)
  • National League: Kenta Maeda (27), Willson Contreras (10), Almedys Diaz (8), Steven Matz (7), Dansby Swanson (4), Jose Peraza (3), Seung Hwan Oh (3), Ryan Schimpf (2), David Dahl (1), Jon Gray (1), Jameson Taillon (1), Tony Wolters (1), Zach Davies (1)

About JD Mathewson

PhD in International Relations and Political Economy

Posted on November 16, 2016, in Awards. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: