Justin Verlander, Max Scherzer Awarded BBBA’s Walter Perry Johnson Award for Best Regular Season MLB Pitching Performances of 2016

The bloggers of the Baseball Bloggers Alliance have chosen the Detroit Tigers’ Justin Verlander and the Washington Nationals’ Max Scherzer as the best pitchers of the 2016 MLB regular season.

In balloting, Mr. Verlander received 11 first place votes and 130 points overall, highest among all candidates in both leagues. Finishing a close second with 125 points and nine first place votes was the Cleveland Indians’ Corey Kluber. The Boston Red Sox’ Rick Porcello finished third with 110 points and nine first place ballots. Also earning the top spot on BBA ballots were the Chicago White Sox’ Chris Sale and the Toronto Blue Jays’ Aaron Sanchez. The top five American League pitchers finished as follows:

  1. Justin Verlander, 130 points (11 1st place votes)
  2. Corey Kluber, 125 (9)
  3. Rick Porcello, 110 (9)
  4. Chris Sale, 46 (1)
  5. Aaron Sanchez, 44 (4)

In the National League, Mr. Scherzer received 115 points and 10 first place votes. The Nats’ ace narrowly beat the Chicago Cubs’ Kyle Hendricks who finished second with 105 points and one more first place vote than Scherzer. Also receiving first place votes were the New York Mets’ Noah Syndergaard, the Cubs’ Jon Lester, the San Francisco Giants’ Madison Bumgarner, the Los Angeles Dodgers’ Clayton Kershaw, and late Miami Marlins ace Jose Fernandez. The top five NL pitchers finished as follows:

  1. Max Scherzer, 115 (10)
  2. Kyle Hendricks, 105 (11)
  3. Noah Syndergaard, 63 (1)
  4. Jon Lester, 58 (2)
  5. Jose Fernandez, 44 (3)

In total, 28 MLB pitchers received a vote in the 2016 Walter Johnson Award vote. Honorable mention (with point totals) goes to:

  • American League: Andrew Miller (25), Masahiro Tanaka (19), J.A. Happ (11), Jose Quintana (11), David Price (6), Zach Britton (6), Francisco Rodriguez (3), R.A. Dickey (2), Cole Hamels (1)
  • National League: Madison Bumgarner (41), Clayton Kershaw (34), Jake Arrieta (24), Johnny Cueto (21), Tanner Roark (4), Kenley Jansen (3), Jeurys Familia (2), Julio Teheran (2), Bartolo Colon (1)

Stay tuned the rest of the week for the winners of the Goose Gossage (best relievers), Willie Mays (best rookies) and Connie Mack (best managers) awards.

About JD Mathewson

PhD in International Relations and Political Economy

Posted on November 15, 2016, in Awards, MLB Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: