Draft Day, 1871: OOTP 17 Takes Us Back To What Never Was, But Should Have Been

Introduction: The OTBB guys wanted me to write something about Out Of The Park baseball, a computer baseball simulation game that you can find here. If its rating were a Statcast Stat, OOTP would be whatever the highest Statcast stat there is. So the game is *********^1 awesome and I recommend it to anyone who wants to feel like they should be a GM or just wants to make their own baseball worlds. 

Second Note: Realizing how much I could talk about this game, I decided to split this post up into parts. As a Draft Day Special, here is my experience on my own draft day for my historical baseball simulation on January 1st, 1871.

DRAFT DAY

Old-timey piano music plays, but not any old-timey music, way old timey-music plays. Like ‘it might be on the sheet music monks used’ type of old-timey music.

It is a cold day on January 1, 1871. Or possibly it’s night. The game doesn’t give you a time.

And it is an historic generic hour as the general managers of the newfound Major League Baseball are hosting the inaugural MLB draft in…well, somewhere in America I guess. It doesn’t say where. And luckily and amazingly, I am there. Me: the 21-year-old, Lebanon-born general manager of the Boston Red Stockings (Go Stocks), even though Major League Baseball, Lebanon, and I were all formed in the twentieth century.

I get an e-mail. Yes folks, that’s right, I receive an e-mail in 1871. It says, “The Draft is About to Begin.”

 

To continue reading about Jason’s 1871 Baseball Draft, visit the site.  You should also check out Off The Bench Baseball and follow us on the twitter machine @OTB_Baseball.

About OffTheBenchBaseball

A (Mostly) Baseball Blog

Posted on June 10, 2016, in MLB Reports, Off The Bench. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

