David Ortiz Still Plans on Retiring, Despite a Great Start to 2016

Ground Rule Triple

GettyImages-511843580.vadapt.664.high.72

Boston Red Sox’s Designated Hitter, David Ortiz, has the second highest slugging percentage in the MLB, and third highest OPS, being one of the best hitters of the 2016 season so far. This great production out of the blocks, however, does not seem to distract Ortiz from retirement after this season.

Ortiz tell Yahoo Sports, “I’m good with the decision that I’m making because I’ve been thinking about it for a while”.

“It’s been a couple years. Because your body, man. Your body tells you. My body, man. My body’s pretty beat up. Remember, if you look at guys my size, they don’t last. I noticed that seven or eight years ago. That’s why I needed to start doing things right. I lost 25 pounds. I started eating better, do things better. But let me tell you: It’s not easy, man”.

“All people talk about is age, age, age, age…

View original post 284 more words

About Big D

Just a normal baseball fan, living across the country from his favorite team.

Posted on May 19, 2016, in MLB Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

