Milwaukee Brewers – Opening Day Memories

Attending baseball’s Opening Day means a lot of different things to fans. Depending on the stadium and team, as I like to say, your mileage may vary.  I’m a Milwaukee Brewers fan and attend games at fan-friendly Miller Park – which believe me was important this week with temperatures in the 30’s with blustery winds and occasional blasts of snow.

I dare say attending Opening Day is now a tradition for me as this was my tenth straight opener. Of course this may seem Little League to others – especially to the guy I hear interviewed on the radio every year.  He’s been to every Brewers home opener since 1970.  Talk about a streak!  So with a few of my own under my belt, in this post I’d like to take a look at some of the things that make Opening Day special – and how I got started going in the first place.

In 2006 I started thinking about taking my Dad to Opening Day.  It was one baseball “thing” that had eluded us since he started taking me to games at Milwaukee County Stadium.  Dad had a hard time landing Opening Day tickets during those pre-internet days, yet somehow he got us into the ’82 playoffs.  Go figure.  He had a couple opportunities to get us on the “Drunk Bus” as he called it, but after a night game incident that went awry, he never went that route.

READ THE REST OF THIS ENTRY

 

 

About zantmandu

Author at Large!

Posted on April 5, 2016, in MLB Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

