Walter Johnson Award Given For 2013 Season

The BBA has two awards left to give for the 2013 season which brings the attention to the best pitcher and best overall player in each league.

The Walter Johnson Award honors the pitcher in each league that excelled far beyond anyone else.  This year’s award was a dominant choice in both leagues for the Alliance.

Max Scherzer – Detroit Tigers

Scherzer’s sixth year in the league would easily be his most dominant.  He led the American League with 21 wins as well as with a .875 winning percentage and 0.970 WHIP (Walks and Hits per Inning Pitched).  He kept base runners off the base paths and away from scoring.  A 2.90 earned run average would be backed up by 240 strikeouts over 214.1 innings.  The Tigers’ pitcher was dominant throughout most of the season and the Alliance recognized that with 95% of their vote.

Clayton Kershaw – Los Angeles Dodgers

Not to be outdone, Kershaw garnered 98% of the vote on the National League side of the BBA.

While Kershaw would not win many games this season, he would not yield many runs, either.  He would lead the league with a 1.83 earned run average.  He would also lead the league in strikeouts with 232 and 0.915 WHIP.  Kershaw proved once again to be dominant and the BBA recognized that by making him the first two-time winner of the Johnson award.

Previous Walter Johnson Award Winners
2012: Justin Verlander, Detroit; R.A. Dickey, New York Mets
2011: Justin Verlander, Detroit; Clayton Kershaw, Los Angeles Dodgers
2010: Felix Hernadez, Seattle; Roy Halladay, Philadelphia
2009: Zack Greinke, Kansas City; Tim Lincecum, San Francisco

The Baseball Bloggers Alliance was formed in the fall of 2009 to encourage cooperation and collaboration between baseball bloggers of all major league teams as well as those that follow baseball more generally. 

About Bill Ivie

Father, Lutheran, baseball lover, engaged to @CardsChic (twitter handle). You can find me writing for,, and as well as on twitter (poisonwilliam) and facebook.

Posted on November 7, 2013, in Awards. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: